Follow us in:

Thursday, July 30th, 2015


Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SGEWashington

Alleviating Inequality through Human Capital

Thursday, May 28th, 2015

Monday, June 1 2015  5:45 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.

Conference room 483, Congressional Budget Office

2nd & D Streets, SW, 4th Floor, Washington, DC 20515

(Metro: Federal Center Station)



Lakshmi Raut, Economist, Social Security Administration

Bob Lerman, Institute Fellow, Urban Institute, and Professor, American University


2015 SGE Conference – Photos

Friday, May 22nd, 2015

The SGE Conference was a success!  The conference was held on Thursday, May 21st at the George Washington University. Thank you to all who participated, contributed your time and shared your thoughts.




lunch photo




2015 SGE Conference – Detailed Agenda

Monday, May 18th, 2015

The SGE Conference is almost here!  The conference will be held on Thursday, May 21st at the Marvin Center (George Washington University).  The preliminary detailed agenda can be found here: (more…)

Society for Benefit-Cost Analysis 7th Annual Conference

Tuesday, February 3rd, 2015

The Society for Benefit-Cost Analysis (SBCA) is an international group of practitioners, academics and others who are working to improve the theory and application of the tools of benefit-cost analysis. (more…)

Event Invitation: Amelie Constant, IZA

Thursday, November 14th, 2013

SGE members are invited to a roundtable discussion for the launch of the International Handbook on the Economics of Migration, the first handbook on the economics of migration, edited by Amelie F. Constant and Klaus F. Zimmermann and published by Edward Elgar. This roundtable will take place on Wednesday, November 20 from 4-5:30 p.m. at the Brookings Institution (1775 Massachusetts Ave., NW) in the Somers room. A reception will follow.

RSVP to Christina Golubski at cgolubski@brookings.edu or 202-797-6247.

Election results

Thursday, March 24th, 2011

President: Farhad Niami
Vice President: Juan Contreras
Treasurer: Andrew Felton
Executive Secretary: Muhammad Faizul Islam
At-large board members:

  • Norton Francis
  • Al Meilus
  • Brian Sloboda
  • Leo Sveikauskas

Those positions that cary a multi-year term (Executive Director, Membership Director, and Conference Committee Chair) will continue from the previous year. The next set of elections will occur in February 2012.